BANG BANG, IT’S 2015

A new year, 365 new days full of promise and hope.
2015.
I like the ring to it, sounds like a nice solid number.

What are the most common New Year’s Resolutions, I wondered?

Well a quick Google search helped and this is what I found –

1 Lose Weight
2 Getting Organised
3 Spend Less, Save More
4 Enjoy Life to the Fullest
5 Staying Fit and Healthy
6 Learn Something Exciting
7 Quit Smoking
8 Help Others fulfill Their Dreams
9 Fall in Love (in my case)Do not take love for granted
10 Spend More Time with Family

I seem to fall into the most common category of human being as I would like to do all the above this year and quite frankly, that gave me comfort.

Statistics on success rates of Resolutions aren’t that hot. Again, Im glad I fit the norm –

Age Success Rates
Percent of people in their twenties who achieve their resolution each year 39%
Percent of people over 50 who achieve their resolution each year 14%
Length of Resolutions
Resolution maintained through first week 75%
Past two weeks 71%
Past one month 64%
Past six months 46%

Over the next ten months, I will be getting out of my comfort zone and documenting the above list. Hey, I know a year has 12 months in it but month ten is pretty special to me, it happens to be my birth month.

No time like the present I guess.
copy for blog
This is me, dated January 5th.

What can I say? Well for one – Ive been bigger and I’ve been smaller – all in the past 20 months.
IMG_5042
October 2013/June 2014

Why on earth would you put photos of yourself online for all to see? I hear you asking.
Well because I am a classic YOYO. The heaviest Ive ever been was last October (please dear husband do not read this!) 69.7kg. By the way, I am 5ft3. So that’s some timber.

I am a comfort eater. Anyone else out there? I mindlessly eat when I am unhappy or bored, upset or under pressure.
I drink a little too much wine.
I love potatoes and bread,
I have been cooking for a living for the past few years and well, anyone who works in catering or knows someone who does, knows our eating habits/times are not the healthiest.
I am not too pleased with my reflection at the moment.

What would I like to achieve this year?
Well, I would say I’ve gained well over a stone in the past 6 months, and my body could do without it.
I would like to get lean (forever)
I would like to lose the cellulite (forever)
I feel heavy and sluggish, I want to feel light and full of energy.
I need to move around more.

Plan –
Keep up a workout routine – no excuses (forever)

I started going to gym for the first time in my life in November 2013. I got myself a personal trainer and worked out 3 times a week. For the first few weeks I died but as time went on and my endurance started to build I became addicted. I still ate and drank what I wanted, so weight loss wasn’t great or fast but wow did I transform. (see pictures above!)

However, between work and family commitments, excuses I haven’t been going for the past few months. And then I lost it all. I lost the drive and motivation, I lost the addiction.

So new year, Life change. Drastic? Maybe, but at 36 I seriously need to get cracking!

Ive found these great, great, online personal trainer videos which I have no excuses not to do as I can fit them in any time of the day.
http://www.sweatybetty.com/free-online-workout-videos/

Ive already done one of the videos this morning as Im stuck at home with a sick little one. How am I feeling? I feel like Ive made a start.

I’m also going to start fasting again. If you’ve never heard of Dr Michael Mosley – watch this documentary.http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x18a1b6_michael-mosley-eat-fast-live-longer_lifestyle

One thought on “BANG BANG, IT’S 2015

Leave a Reply

